PDA

View Full Version : Further Evidence of the Perfect Dark KIOSK for you disbelievers


Diablous
Tue 4 Apr 2000, 06:24
Hello,

a lot of you are doubting that Perfect Dark has appeared in various Wal-Marts across the country, claiming that a working kiosk doesn't exist.
I've even been told it's my duty to provide photographs of the cartridge, which is impossible because the console and everything are hidden in a black metal box.

However, there's a webpage out there you might be interested in. www.datadyne.com (http://www.datadyne.com)

If you know anything about Perfect Dark, Datadyne is the name of the "big, bad, evil corporation". Nintendo ran a full page ad in my local newspaper advertising this webpage and slapping "brought to you by Perfect Dark" at the bottom.

This webpage lays the dispute to rest. The PD kiosk *IS* out, and *HAS* been out for several weeks. It's already made the round at dozens of US colleges, as evidenced by the schedule on the webpage.

I will be the first to admit that this is quite an odd way to advertise a video game, but this is thoroughly legit.

Diablous

WT_Riker
Tue 4 Apr 2000, 11:05
Yet we still wait for someone to dump the cart. http://www.dextrose.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
WT_Riker - OBSIDIAN

jb0395
Tue 4 Apr 2000, 21:30
Just where on the datadyne site does it say that PD kiosk is out ?

Robert
Mon 10 Apr 2000, 06:56
The datadyne web page says absolutely nothing of relevance concerning Perfect Dark or Nintendo. What evidence??

kdogg
Mon 10 Apr 2000, 11:58
He means out like at stores.. Wal-Mart has it. You know in there demo systems. Its pretty kick ass to tell ya the truth

cte
Mon 10 Apr 2000, 19:14
For real kdogg?????? U have played it in a store???

timschel64
Tue 11 Apr 2000, 01:52
umm, yah, it's been out.... just because we can't dump (thanks to nintendo's new policies, they lock their kiosks/demo units in a black box to which only the rep has the key) doesn't mean it doesn't exist... Sometimes it takes longer to distribute so if you've stopped by and haven't seen it yet, just give em a week or so and you should find it in your local(major) retailers.

jb0395
Tue 11 Apr 2000, 02:59
I've been to WalMart, Software Etc, and Funco and they all still have Pokemon Stadium - no Perfect Dark - but maybe that's just my area.

Vertigo
Thu 13 Apr 2000, 03:14
As far as datadyne.com goes, I've been watching it for a while. First it was a site advertising computer and network solutions, and strangely enough also had some book reviews (of various works by controversial people on controversial subjects), then it was under construction for a long while, and now it appears to be some sort of corporate effort.
BUT: on the front page: "DATADYNE is a fictional company and is not affiliated with or related to any real business entity."
Also it appears to have been updated since last time I read it too, some of the jobs link to rareware.
The site doesn't appear to be registered to anyone with anything to do with Nintendo, although the site does say they were visiting various universities around America in these few months BUT I have a friend at NYU who says the university has no record of ever having been visited by any company called Datadyne for any open day.
So.... draw your own conclusions.
Personally I think it's got Rare written all over it, especially that Loveday bloke who does the rareware site.
As far as the kiosk demo goes, I live in the UK so errr lol not likely.
Mmmm import PD, 1 month :)

CrowTRobo
Fri 14 Apr 2000, 06:08
Heheh, you still haven't realized it's Nintendo/Rare behind that site? I thought it was fairly obvious. http://www.dextrose.com/ubb/smile.gif

You might also want to check out this site: http://www.carringtoninstitute.com/

I got to give a lot of credit to Nintendo/Rare on this. I have never seen such an involved ad campaign.

CrowTRobo

ChrisUK
Sat 15 Apr 2000, 22:30
i read an article in official n64 mag (uk) about this site "datadyne". apparently if you can get into the restricted area there are a few more clues to this being a PD site? the mag obviously got access to this restricted part of the site but they did not hint to the login/pass (arghhh) any ideas anybody????????

chris

CrowTRobo
Sat 15 Apr 2000, 22:48
The l/p for the restricted site was posted here a few weeks ago, you might want to search for it.

CrowTRobo

Vertigo
Sun 16 Apr 2000, 04:53
It definitely needs to be very involved, they're losing out a bit now.
Still, I NEED this game. £60 to import? Bargain mate.

Crash-Test-Dummy
Sun 16 Apr 2000, 18:32
Has any one figured out what the remote communication stuff is? The links are pages that look like garbage